On Friday, February 7, at Springfield High School’s Duey Gymnasium, before a Central State Conference match-up with the Crimsons from Jacksonville High School, the IBCA presented Hall of Fame and former Senator Coach Clark Barnes with a 1500 School Victory Plaque. Brian Barnes – Coach’s son, former standout player and current assistant coach at SHS, Julian Gorens, and Coach Barnes are pictured with the Senator’s student body.

During the 2021-22 season, Springfield High School reached the 1500 school victory milestone. Since the 1910-11 season, the Senators have captured an 38 district or regional titles, 22 sectional crowns, and made 16 trips to the state tournament resulting in one 4th place finish, one 3rd place trophy, three 2nd place finishes, and three state championships in 1917, 1935, and 1959. Springfield High School can be included as not only one of the premier boys’ basketball programs in Central Illinois but in the state.

SHS coaches who have been inducted into the IBCA Hall of Fame include: Mark Peterman – Class of 1973; Ray Page – Class of 1973; Clark Barnes – Class of 2006; and Girls Coach Dave Urish – Class of 2008.

Hall of Fame Players include: Dave Robisch – Class of 1973; Herb Scheffler – Class of1977; Tom Cole – Class of 1978; Stan London – Class of 1983; Bob Trumpy – Class of 1983; Randy Rice – Class of 2014. Girls’ players selected are: Lynn Callahan – Class of 2004; Shatonia Levy – Class of 2012; and Georgia & Genny Muller – Class of 2020.

Two very important Friends of Basketball were inducted in 2012: Libby Fox & Darlene Rockford.

At this time, the IBCA congratulates Coach Joby Crum, and all Senator players, coaches and fans – past and present – on this great achievement!

Springfield 2