On Saturday, February 11, before a packed house anticipating the rubber match between Twin-City rivals Normal University High and Bloomington Central Catholic, the IBCA presented a 1500 School Victory plaque to current Pioneer Coach Andrew McDowell and the last 5 U-High Head Coaches and long-time Assistant Coaches dating back to 1980. At that time, Coach Bob Morris took over the program from the late IBCA Hall of Famer Bob Metcalf who coached from 1961 – 1980, and was represented by daughter Sara Metcalf Kinney – who also is an IBCA Hall of Fame Coach, Class of 2013.  Over 60 years of basketball excellence!

Since the 1910-11 season, the Pioneers have captured 32 district or regional titles, 14 sectional crowns, and made 9 trips to the state tournament resulting in two 3rd place trophies, three 2nd place finishes, and the 1995 Class A State Championship. University High School currently has 1672 all-time victories. Without any doubt, Normal University High School can be included as not only one of the premier boys’ basketball programs in Central Illinois but in the state.

IBCA Hall of Fame Coaches include: Bob Metcalf – Class of 1980; Burt O’Connor – Class of 1980; Cal Hubbard – Class of 2003.

Hall of Fame Players are: Jim Crews – Class of 1985 and on the girls’ side, Yen Quach – Class of 2016.

Friend of Basketball Glen Leary was selected in 1992.

At this time, the IBCA congratulates all Pioneer players, coaches and fans – past and present – on this great achievement!

Front Row from Left to Right: Head Coaches Andrew McDowell (2016-present); Cal Hubbard (1989-2007); Chuck Gault (1986-89); Bob Morris (1980-1886); and Bob Fitzgerald (2007-2016).

Back Row from left to right: Assistant Coaches Lester Hampton (1989-present); Selby Hubbard (1989-2007); Sarah Metcalf Kinney (daughter of Head Coach Bob Metcalf 1961-1980), Dave “Spoon” Mizer (1989-present); Jeff Graham (2008-2020); IBCA Board of Director Steve Allen