On December 1, Galesburg High School hosted a huge crowd at John Theil Gymnasium for a key conference match-up with Western Big Six rival Geneseo. A great turnout of former and present Silver Streak girls players were on hand to help accept a 1000 School Victory plaque from the IBCA. Galesburg is just the 5th girls program in Illinois to have surpassed the 1000 victory milestone, having done so the previous week on Nov. 26 vs. Peoria Manual.

Since the 1974-75 season, the Streaks have captured 32 regional titles and have made 9 state tournament appearances which has produced one 4th place, two 3rd places, three 2nd places, and back-to-back Class A StateChampionships  in 1992 & 1993. Along with numerous conference championships as well as holiday tournament titles, Galesburg High School can be included as one of the premier girls basketball programs in the state.

Only two coaches have graced the hardcourt for the Silver Streaks: Teri Hoehn (1973-1978) and Evan Massey, who is responsible for 971 of those victories. Coach Massey currently ranks 4th in all-time Illinois High School – girls & boys. He was inducted into the IBCA Hall of Fame in 2000. Silver Streak players who have been selected to the IBCA Hall of Fame include: Tiffany Sibley – Class of 2012; Molly Watson-Fordyce – Class of 2016; Sarah Larson – Class of 2018; and Megan Pacheco – Class of 2019.

At this time, the IBCA congratulates Coach Evan Massey and all Silver Streak players, coaches and fans – past and present – on this great achievement!