On Friday, December 2, before a Southwestern Conference tilt with Edwardsville, a great contingent of former Redbirds accepted a 1500 School Victory plaque from the IBCA. Accepting the plaque was Principal Mike Behm, current Redbird Coach Dylan Dudley, and former coaches Mike Brey and Eric Smith.

Since the 1904-05 season, the Redbirds have captured 23 regional titles, 4 sectional crowns and made 3 trips to the state tournament. Along with many holiday tournaments and Southwestern Conference titles, the Redbirds can be considered an elite program in Southern Illinois. Alton now stands at 1505 wins.

Former Redbird coaches who are in the IBCA Hall of Fame include: Sherill Hanks – Cass of 1973; Ralph Sterret – Class of 1991; Mel Sheets – Class of 1992; and Lee Bennett – Class of 2014.

Players who were inducted into the Hall of Fame are: Cathy Snipes – Class of 2009; George Terry – Class of 2012; Larry Smith – Class of 2016; Charlie “Dink” Black – Class of 2020; and Troy Washpun – Class of 2022.

Congratulations to Coach Dylan Dudley and all Redbird players, coaches and fans – past and present – on this great achievement!